Tag Archives: Painting Box

In July 1967.

In July 1967, “Elektra” label released “The 5000 Spirits or the Layers of the Onion”, the second The Incredible String Band studio album. It was recorded in 1967 at “Sound Techniques” in London, and was produced by Joe Boyd.


  • Robin Williamson- vocals, guitar, mandolin, oud, bowed and bass gimbri, flute, percussion
  • Mike Heron- vocals, guitar, harmonica
  • Licorice McKechnie- vocals, percussion
  • Danny Thompson- double bass
  • John Hopkins- piano
  • Soma (Nazir Jairazbhoy)- sitar, tanpura

Track listing:

  1. Chinese White – Mike Heron
  2. No Sleep Blues – Robin Williamson
  3. Painting Box – Mike Heron
  4. The Mad’s Hatter’s Song – Robin Williamson
  5. Little Cloud – Mike Heron
  6. The Eyes of Fate – Robin Williamson
  7. Blues for the Muse – Robin Williamson
  8. The Hedgehog’s Song – Mike Heron
  9. First Girl I Loved – Robin Williamson
  10. You Know What You Could Be – Mike Heron
  11. My Name Is Death – Robin Williamson
  12. Gently Tender – Mike Heron
  13. Way Back in the 1960s – Robin Williamson