Tag Archives: Old World

On April 8, 2008.

On April 8, 2008, “Vapor Records” label released “Because Her Beauty Is Raw and Wild”, the thirteen Jonathan Richman solo album.


  • Jonathan Richman – vocals, guitar, percussion
  • Suzanne Pieskar – piano
  • Roger Montalbano – vocals
  • Miles Montalbano – vocals, bass
  • Greg Keranen – bass
  • Tommy Larkins – drums, percussion
  • Miles Montalbano – photography
  • Rory Earnshaw – photography

Track listing:

All tracks by Jonathan Richman, except where noted.

  1. Because Her Beauty Is Raw and Wild
  2. No One Was Like Vermeer
  3. Time Has Been Going By So Fast
  4. Es Como El Pan
  5. Our Drab Ways
  6. The Lovers Are Here and They’re Full of Sweat
  7. Le Printemps Des Amoreux Est Venue
  8. When We Refuse to Suffer
  9. This Romance Will Be Different for Me
  10. Old World
  11. Our Party Will Be On The Beach Tonight
  12. When We Refuse to Suffer [second version]
  13. Here It Is – Leonard Cohen
  14. As My Mother Lay Lying

In August 1976.

In August 1976, “Beserkley” label released the debut, self-titled Modern Lovers  album. It was recorded in 1976, and was produced by John Cale, Robert Appere, Kim Fowley and Alan Mason. In 2003, the album was ranked at number 381 on “Rolling Stone”  magazine’s list of the “500 Greatest Albums of all Time”.


  • Jonathan Richman– vocals, electric guitars
  • Jerry Harrison– piano, organ, backing vocals
  • Ernie Brooks – bass, backing vocals
  • David Robinson– drums, backing vocals
  • John Cale– additional keyboards
  • Jim Blodgett – co-ordination
  • Lubin – assistance
  • Horn – mastering

Track listing:

All tracks by Jonathan Richman.

  1. Roadrunner
  2. Astral Plane
  3. Old World
  4. Pablo Picasso
  5. She Cracked
  6. Hospital
  7. Someone I Care About
  8. Girlfriend
  9. Modern World