Louis Armstrong: Concert at the Crescendo Vol. 1

On January 21, 1955, “Decca” label released “Concert at the Crescendo Vol. 1”,the seventh Louis Armstrong album. It was recorded in 1954, at “Crescendo Club” in Hollywood.


  • Louis Armstrong – vocals, trumpet
  • Velma Middleton – vocals
  • Barmey Bigard – clarinet
  • Trummy Young – trombone
  • Billy Kyle – piano
  • Arvell Shaw – double bass
  • Barrett Deems – drums
  • Leonard Feather – liner notes

Track listing:

  1. When It’s Sleepy Time Down South – Clarence Muse, Leon Rene, Otis Rene
  2. Jeeper Creepers – Harry Warren
  3. Tin Roof Blues – Paul Mares, Ben Pollack, Mel Stitzel, George Brunies, Leon Roppolo
  4. My Bucket’s Got a Hole in It – Clarence Williams
  5. Rose Room – Art Hickman
  6. Brother Bill – Louis Armstrong, Bill Cosby
  7. Lazy River – Hoagy Carmichael, Sidney Arodin
  8. T’ain’t What You Do – Melvin “Sy” Oliver, James “Trummy” Young
  9. Perdido – Juan Tizol
  10. Blues for Bass
  11. Don’t Fence Me In – Cole Porter
  12. Stompin’ at the Savoy – Edgar Sampson

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.