George Russell: Stratusphunk

In January 1961, “Riverside” label released “Stratusphunk”, the fifth George Russell album. It was recorded in October 1960 in New York City, and was produced by Orrin Keepnews.


  • George Russell – piano, arranger, conductor
  • Al Kiger – trumpet
  • David Baker: trombone
  • Dave Young: tenor saxophone
  • Chuck Israels: bass
  • Joe Hunt: drums

Track listing:

All tracks by George Russell except where noted

  1. Stratusphunk
  2. New Donna
  3. Bent Eagle – Carla Bley
  4. Kentucky Oysters – David Baker
  5. Lambskins – David Lahm
  6. Things New

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.