On August 25, 2003.

On August 25, 2003, “Mack Avenue Label” released “New York, New Sound”, the 20th Gerard Wilson album. It was recorded in February 2003, at “Clinton Recording Studios” in New York City, and was produced by Stix Hooper.


  • Gerald Wilson – arranger, conductor
  • Oscar Castro-Neves, Anthony Wilson – guitar
  • Kenny Barron, Renee Rosnes – piano
  • Bob Cranshaw, Trey Henry, Larry Ridley – bass
  • Stix Hooper, Lewis Nash – drums
  • Jerry Dodgion – alto saxophone, flute
  • Jesse Davis – alto saxophone
  • Frank Wess – tenor saxophone, flute
  • Jimmy Heath – tenor saxophone
  • Clark Terry – trumpet, flugelhorn
  • Jon Faddis, Frank Greene, Eddie Henderson, Sean Jones, Jimmy Owens – trumpet
  • Luis Bonilla, Benny Powell, Douglas Purviance, Dennis Wilson – trombone

Track listing:

All tracks by Gerald Wilson, except where noted.

  1. Milestones – Miles Davis
  2. Blues for the Count
  3. Equinox – John Coltrane
  4. Viva Tirado (Mucho Mas)
  5. Teri
  6. Blues for Yna Yna
  7. Theme for Monterey
  8. M Capetillo
  9. Josefina
  10. Nancy Jo

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.