On August 7, 1973.

On August 7, 1973, “RCA” label released “Pressure Cookin’”, the third Labelle studio album. It was recorded in 1973, at “RCA Studio D” in New York City, and was produced by Vicki Vickham and Stevie Wonder.


  • Patti LaBelle – vocals
  • Nona Hendryx – vocals
  • Sarah Dash – vocals
  • Buzz Feiten, Eddie Martinez, Hank Redd – guitars
  • Leroi Conley – guitars, percussion 
  • Andre Lewis – organ, electric piano, clavinet, bass guitar, drums, percussion, arrangements
  • Luther Eaddy – organ
  • Carmine Rojas – bass guitar
  • Larry Davis, Emry Thomas – drums
  • Daniel Ben Zebulon – percussion
  • Mike Moran, Tom Brown – engineer
  • Roger Williams – artwork, design
  • Bob Gruen – photography

Track listing:

All tracks by Nona Hendryx, except where noted.

  1. Pressure Cookin’
  2. Medley: Something in the Air / The Revolution Will Not Be Televised – Speedy Keen / Gil-Scott Heron
  3. Sunshine (Woke Me Up This Morning)
  4. (Can I Speak Before You Go To) Hollywood
  5. Mr. Music Man
  6. Goin’ On a Holiday
  7. Let Me See You in the Light
  8. Open Up Your Heart – Stevie Wonder
  9. Last Dance

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.