On May 14, 2021.

On May 14, 2021, “Impulse!” label released “Black to the Future”, the fourth Sons of Kemet studio album. It was recorded in 2021, at “Livingston Studio 1” in London, and was produced by Shabaka Hutchings and Dilip Harris.


  • Shabaka Hutchings – tenor saxophone, woodwinds
  • Theon Cross – tuba
  • Edward Wakili-Hick – percussion
  • Tom Skinner – percussion
  • Steve Williamson – tenor saxophone
  • Joshua Idehen – vocals
  • Angel Bat Dawid – vocals
  • Moor Mother – vocals
  • D Double E – vocals
  • Kojey Radical – vocals
  • Lianne La Havas – vocals

Track listing:

  1. Field Negus
  2. Pick Up Your Burning Cross
  3. Think of Home
  4. Hustle
  5. For the Culture
  6. To Never Forget the Source
  7. In Remembrance of Those Source
  8. Let the Circle Be Unbroken
  9. Envision Yourself Levitating
  10. Black

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.