In April 1968.

In April 1968, “Blue Note” label released “Plain Talk”, the 47th Jimmy Smith album. It was recorded in March 1960, at “Van Gelder Studio” in Englewood Cliffs, New Jersey, and was produced by Alfred Lion.


  • Jimmy Smith – organ
  • Quentin Warren – guitar
  • Donald Bailey – drums
  • Jackie McLean – alto saxophone
  • Ike Quebec – tenor saxophone
  • Blue Mitchell – trumpet
  • Rudy Van Gelder – engineer
  • Photomedia – photography
  • Nat Hentoff – liner notes

Track listings:

  1. Big Fat Mama – Lucky Millinder, Stafford Simon
  2. My One and Only Love – Robert Melvin, Guy Wood
  3. Plain Talk – Jimmy Smith
  4. Time After Time – Sammy Cahn, Jule Styne

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.