Andre Previn & J. J. Johnson: Same

In March 1962, “Columbia” label released “André Previn and J. J. Johnson” (subtitled Play Kurt Weill’s Mack the Knife & Bilbao-Song and Other Music from The Three Penny Opera, Happy End, Mahagonny), album by André Previn and J. J. Johnson.It was recorded in December 1961, in Los Angeles, and was produced by Irving Townsend.


  • André Previn – piano
  • J. J. Johnson – trombone
  • Red Mitchell – bass
  • Frank Capp – drums

Track listing:

All tracks by Kurt Weill.

  1. Bilbao Song – (from Happy End)
  2. Barbara Song – (from The Three Penny Opera)
  3. Overture – (from The Three Penny Opera)
  4. Seeräuberjenny – (from The Three Penny Opera)
  5. Mack the Knife (Moritat)
  6. Surabaya Johnny – (from Happy End)
  7. Wie man sich bettet – (Meine Herren, meine Mutter prägte from Rise and Fall of the City of Mahagonny)
  8. Unzulänglichkeit – (from The ThreePenny Opera)

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.