Ryuichi Sakamoto: Thousand Knives

On October 25, 1978, “Nippon Columbia” label released “Thousand Knives”, the debut Ryuichi Sakamoto album. It was recorded April – July 1978, at “Columbia Studios 1, 2 and 4” in Tokyo, and was produced by Ryuichi Sakamoto.


  • Ryuichi Sakamoto – synthesizer (Moog III-C with Roland MC-8 Microcomposer, Polymoog, Minimoog, Micromoog, Oberheim Eight Voice Polyphonic with Digital Programmer, ARP Odyssey, KORG PS-3100 Polyphonic), vocoder (Korg VC-10), analog sequencer (KORG SQ-10), Syn-Drums, piano, marimba, orchestration, liner notes
  • Hideki Matsutake – computer operation, synthesizer programming assistance
  • Harry Hosono – zill, liner notes
  • Motoya Hamaguchi – Syn-Drum solo, Brazilian bird whistles
  • Kazumi Watanabe – Alembic guitar, rhythm 
  • Yūji Takahashi – piano
  • Tatsuro Yamashita – castanets
  • Pecker – Syn-Drum solo
  • Satoshi “Sign” Saitoh – design
  • Makoto Iida – cover photo
  • Hikaru Hayashi – liner notes

Track listing:

All tracks by Ryuichi Sakamoto.

  1. Thousand Knives
  2. Island of Woods
  3. Grasshoppers
  4. Das Neue Japanische Elektronische Volkslied
  5. Plastic Bamboo
  6. The End of Asia

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.