Donald Byrd: Free Form

In October 1966, “Blue Note” label released “Free Form”, the 20th Donald Byrd album. It was recorded in December 1961, at “Van Gelder Studio” in Englewood Cliffs, New Jersey, and was produced by Alfred Lion.


  • Donald Byrd – trumpet
  • Wayne Shorter – tenor saxophone
  • Herbie Hancock – piano
  • Butch Warren – bass
  • Billy Higgins – drums

Track listing:

All tracks by Donald Byrd except where noted.

  1. Pentecostal Feelin’
  2. Night Flower – Herbie Hancock
  3. Nai Nai
  4. French Spice
  5. Free Form

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.