Gene Vincent and His Blue Caps: Bluejean Bop!

On August 13, 1956, “Capitol” label released “Bluejean Bop!”, the debut Gene Vincent and His Blue Caps album. It was recorded in June 1956, and was produced by Ken Nelson.


  • Gene Vincent – vocals, guitar
  • Galloping” Cliff Gallup – lead guitar
  • “Wee” Willie Williams – rhythm guitar
  • “Jumpin'” Jack Neal – upright bass
  • “Be-Bop” Dickie Harrell – drums

Track listing:

  1. Bluejean Bop – Hal Levy, Gene Vincent
  2. Jezebel – Wayne Shanklin
  3. Who Slapped John? – Tex Davis, Gene Vincent
  4. Ain’t She Sweet – Milton Ager, Jack Yellen
  5. I Flipped – Richard Penniman, Chilton Price
  6. Waltz of the Wind – Fred Rose
  7. Jump Back, Honey, Jump Back – Hadda Brooks
  8. Wedding Bells (Are Breaking Up That Old Gang Of Mine) – Sammy Fain, Irving Kahal, Willie Raskin
  9. Jumps, Giggles and Shouts – Tex Davis, Gene Vincent
  10. Up a Lazy River – Sidney Arodin, Hoagy Carmichael
  11. Bop Street – Tex Davis, Cliff Gallup
  12. Peg O’ My Heart – Alfred Bryan, Fred Fisher

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.