Jimmy Buffett: A White Sport Coat and a Pink Crustacean

On June 4, 1973, “Dunhill” label released “A White Sport Coat and a Pink Crustacean”, the third Jimmy Buffett studio album. It was recorded in 1972, at “Glaser Sound” in Nashville, TN, and was produced by Don Gant.


  • Jimmy Buffett – lead vocals, acoustic rhythm guitar
  • Steve Goodman – acoustic lead guitar
  • Reggie Young – electric lead guitar
  • Doyle Grisham – pedal Steel guitar
  • Mike Utley – piano
  • Greg “Fingers” Taylor – harmonica
  • Shane Keister – Moog synthesizer
  • Vassar Clements – fiddle
  • Ed “Lump” Williams – bass guitar
  • Sammy Creason – drums
  • Phil Royster – congas
  • Johnny Gimble – fiddle
  • Ferrell Morris – percussion
  • Marvin Gardens – maracas, beer cans
  • Sand Key Chorale (Jimmy Buffett, Don Gant, Buzz Cason) – backing vocals
  • The Buffets; Carol Montgomery, Diane Harris – backing vocals

Track listing:

All tracks by Jimmy Buffett, except where noted.

  1. The Great Filling Station Holdup
  2. Railroad Lady – Jimmy Buffett, Jerry Jeff Walker
  3. He Went to Paris
  4. Grapefruit—Juicy Fruit
  5. Cuban Crime of Passion – Jimmy Buffett, Tom Corcoran
  6. Why Don’t We Get Drunk – Marvin Gardens
  7. Peanut Butter Conspiracy
  8. They Don’t Dance Like Carmen No More
  9. I Have Found Me a Home
  10. My Lovely Lady
  11. Death of an Unpopular Poet

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.