Broken Records: Until the Earth Begins to Part

On June 1, 2009, “4AD” label released “Until the Earth Begins to Part”, the debut Broken Records studio album. It was recorded in January 2009, at “Monnow Valley Studio” in Monmouth, and was produced by Ian Caple, James Sutherland, Rory Sutherland, Ian Turnbull, Arne Kolb, Dave Smith, Andrew Keeny and David Fothergill.


  • Jamie Sutherland – vocals
  • Rory Sutherland – violin, guitar, accordion
  • Ian Turnbull – guitar, piano, accordion
  • Arne Kolb – cello
  • Dave Smith – piano, trumpet
  • David Fothergill – bass
  • Andrew Keeny – drums
  • E. Harvard – tenor horn
  • J. Pippen – trombone
  • C. Sefton – tuba
  • D. Guy – double bass
  • J. Bayley – viola
  • Ian Caple – engineer, mixing
  • Tom Manning – engineer assistant
  • Jean-Pierre Chalbos – mastering
  • Sarah Foley – art direction, design, illustrations

Track listing:

  1. Nearly Home
  2. If the News Makes You Sad, Don’t Watch It
  3. Until the Earth Begins to Part
  4. A Promise
  5. Thoughts on a Picture (In a Paper, January 2009)
  6. If Eilert Loveborg Wrote a Song, It Would Sound Like This
  7. Wolves
  8. Ghosts
  9. A Good Reason
  10. Slow Parade

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.