Red Rodney: Red Rodney Returns

In May 1959, “Argo” label released “Red Rodney Returns”, the third Red Rodney album. It was recorded in February 1959, at “Reco Art Studios” in Philadelphia, PA, and was produced by Dave Usher.


  • Red Rodney – trumpet
  • Billy Root – tenor saxophone
  • Danny Kent – piano
  • Jay Cave – double bass
  • Frank Young – drums

Track listing:

All tracks by Danny Kent except where noted.

  1. Shaw ‘Nuff – Ray Brown, Gil Fuller, Dizzy Gillespie
  2. Red, Hot and Blue
  3. I Remember You – Victor Schertzinger, Johnny Mercer
  4. 5709
  5. Whirlwind
  6. Jordu – Duke Jordan
  7. Shelley
  8. Two by Two – Jay Cave

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.