Johnny Griffin: Johnny Griffin Sextet

In May 1958, “Riverside” label released “Johnny Griffin Sextet”, the fifth Johnny Griffin album. It was recorded in February 1958, in New York City, and was produced by Orrin Keepnews.


  • Johnny Griffin — tenor saxophone
  • Pepper Adams – baritone saxophone
  • Donald Byrd – trumpet
  • Kenny Drew — piano
  • Wilbur Ware — bass
  • Philly Joe Jones — drums

Track listing:

  1. Stix’ Trix – Wilbur Campbell
  2. What’s New? – Johnny Burke, Bob Haggart
  3. Woody ‘n’ You – Dizzy Gillespie
  4. Johnny G.G. – John Hines
  5. Catharsis – Johnny Griffin

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.