Buddy Rich: The Driver

On April 4, 1960, “EmaRcy” label released “The Driver”, the 16th Buddy Rich album. It was recorded in 1960 and was produced by Jack Tracy.


  • Buddy Rich – vocals, drums
  • Dave McKenna – piano
  • Earl May – double bass
  • Mike Mainieri – vibraphone
  • Seldon Powell – tenor saxophone
  • Willie Dennis – trombone
  • Irwin “Marky” Markowitz – trumpet
  • Ernie Wilkins – arranger

Track listing:

  1. Brainwashed – Buddy Rich, Ernie Wilkins
  2. A Swinging Serenade – Ernie Wilkins
  3. Big Leg Mary – Buddy Rich, Ernie Wilkins
  4. Straight, No Chaser – Thelonious Monk
  5. Bloody Mary – Ernie Wilkins
  6. A Night in Tunisia – Dizzy Gillespie, Frank Paparelli
  7. Miss Bessie’s Cookin’ – Ernie Wilkins

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.