On january 21, 2003.

On January 21, 2003, “High Note” label released “The Gift”, the 32nd David “Fathead” Newman album. It was recorded in October 2002, at “The Studio” in New York City, and was produced by David “Fathead” Newman and Houston Person.


  • David “Fathead” Newman – alto and tenor saxophone, flute
  • John Hicks – piano
  • Bryan Carrott – vibraphone
  • Buster Williams – bass
  • Winard Harper – drums

Track listing:

All tracks by David “Fathead” Newman except where noted

  1. The Gift
  2. Don’t Let the Sun Catch You Crying – Gerry Marsden, Freddie Marsden, Les Chadwick, Les Maguire
  3. Off the Hook
  4. Unspeakable Times
  5. Little Sonny’s Tune
  6. Lady Day – L. Johnson
  7. Unchain My Heart – Bobby Sharp, Teddy Powell
  8. Ksue

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.