In August 1970.

In August 1970, “Blue Note” label released “Electric Funk”, the 20th Jimmy McGriff album. It was recorded in September 1969, in New York City, and was produced by Sonny Lester.


  • Jimmy McGriff– electronic organ
  • Blue Mitchell– trumpet
  • Stanley Turrentine– tenor saxophone
  • Horace Ott– electric piano, arranger
  • Unknown – guitar
  • Chuck Rainey– electric bass
  • Bernard Purdie– drums

Track listing:

All tracks by Jimmy McGriff except where noted

  1. Back on the Track – Horace Ott
  2. Chris Cross – Horace Ott
  3. Miss Poopie – Horace Ott
  4. The Bird Wave
  5. Spear for Moondog Part 1
  6. Spear for Moondog Part 2
  7. Tight Times – Horace Ott
  8. Spinning Wheel – David Clayton-Thomas
  9. Funky Junk – Horace Ott

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.