In July 1969.

In July 1969, “Atlantic” label released “The House of Blue Lights”, the third Don Covay (and the Jefferson Lemon Blues Band) album. It was recorded in 1969, at “Herb Abramson’s A-1 Studio” in New York City, and was produced by Don Covay.


  • Don Covay– vocals, arranger
  • John Hammond, Jr.- guitar, harmonica
  • Jerry Jemmott- bass
  • Daniel Jones- drums
  • Charles “Honeyman” Otis- drums
  • Joe Richardson – vocals, guitar
  • Butch Valentine- bass
  • uncredited – Hammond organ
  • Herb Abramson– engineer
  • David Cheppa– mastering

Track listing:

  1. Key to the Highway – Big Bill Broonzy, Charles Segar
  2. Mad Dog Blues – Don Covay, Joe Richardson
  3. The Blues Don’t Knock – John Denioa, Sidney Wyche
  4. Blues Ain’t Nothin’ but a Good Woman on Your Mind – Don Covay, Joe Richardson
  5. The House of Blue Lights, Pt. 1 – Don Covay
  6. Four Women – Don Covay
  7. Steady Roller – Don Covay, John Hammond Jr.
  8. Homemade Love – Don Covay
  9. But I Forgive You Blues – Hudson Whittaker
  10. Shut Your Mouth – Dave Clowney
  11. The House of Blue Lights, Pt. 2 – Don Covay


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.