In June 1989.

In June 1989. “Mercury” label released “Avalon Sunset”, the nineteenth Van Morrison studio album. It was recorded in 1989, at “The Woolhall” in Eden, Olympic, “The Townhouse Studios” in London, and was produced by Van Morrison.


  • Van Morrison – vocal, guitar
  • Cliff Richard– vocal
  • Alan Barnes– baritone saxophone
  • Clive Culbertson– bass
  • Neil Drinkwater – accordion, piano, synthesizer
  • Dave Early– drums, percussion
  • Georgie Fame– Hammond organ
  • Cliff Hardie – trombone
  • Roy Jones – drums, percussion
  • Carol Kenyon– backing vocals
  • Katie Kissoon– backing vocals
  • Henry Lowther– trumpet
  • Arty McGlynn– guitar
  • Steve Pearce – bass guitar
  • Stan Sulzmann– alto saxophone
  • Gavyn Wright– string section leader

Track listing:

All tracks by Van Morrison.

  1. Whenever God Shines His Light (duet with Cliff Richard)
  2. Contacting My Angel
  3. I’d Love to Write Another Song
  4. Have I Told You Lately
  5. Coney Island
  6. I’m Tired Joey Boy
  7. When Will I Ever Learn to Live in God
  8. Orangefield
  9. Daring Night
  10. These Are the Days

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.