On May 17, 2019.

On May 17, 2019, “Nonesuch” label released “Finding Gabriel”, the 37th Brad Mehldau album. It was recorded 2017 – 2018, at “Bunker Studios” in New York City, and was produced by Brad Mehldau.


  • Brad Mehldau– vocals, synthesizers, piano, Fender Rhodes, Hammond B-3 organ, Musser Ampli-Celeste, Morfbeats gamelan strips, xylophone, Mellotron, drums, percussion
  • Ambrose Akinmusire– trumpet
  • Chris Cheek– baritone and tenor saxophone
  • Charles Pillow – soprano, baritone and alto saxophone, bass clarinet
  • Joel Frahm– tenor sax
  • Michael Thomas – alto saxophone, flute
  • Sara Caswell– violin
  • Lois Martin – viola
  • Noah Hoffeld – cello
  • Mark Guiliana– drums
  • Aaron Nevezie – effects
  • Kurt Elling– vocals
  • Gabriel Kahane– vocals
  • Becca Stevens– vocals
  • Snorts Malibu – vocals

Track listing:

All tracks by Brad Mehldau.

  1. The Garden
  2. Born to Trouble
  3. Striving After Wind
  4. O Ephraim
  5. Mark Is Howling in the City of Night
  6. The Prophet Is a Fool
  7. Make It All Go Away
  8. Deep Water
  9. Proverb of Ashes
  10. Finding Gabriel



Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.