On May 6, 2003.

On May 6, 2003, “Mint” and “Matador” labels released “Electric Version”, the second The New Pornographers studio album. It was recorded November 2001 – October 2002, and was produced by Neko Case, John Collins, Todd Fancey, Carl Newman, Blaine Thurier, Dan Bejar and Kurt Dahle.


  • Carl Newman– vocals, guitar, keyboards, melodeon
  • Neko Case– vocals
  • John Collins– bass, baritone guitar, keyboards
  • Blaine Thurier– keyboards
  • Kurt Dahle– drums, percussion, vocals, double bass
  • Todd Fancey– guitar, keyboards
  • Dan Bejar – vocals
  • Nora O’Connor– additional vocals
  • Tim Sars – saxophone
  • Monica Cattaway – violin
  • Nyla Rainey – cello
  • Howard Redekopp- engineering, mixing

Track listing:

All tracks by Carl Newman, except where noted.

  1. The Electric Version
  2. From Blown Speakers
  3. The Laws Have Changed
  4. The End of Medicine
  5. Loose Translation
  6. Chump Change – Dan Bejar
  7. All for Swinging You Around
  8. The New Face of Zero and One
  9. Testament to Youth in Verse – Dan Bejar
  10. It’s Only Divine Right
  11. Ballad of a Comeback Kid – Dan Bejar
  12. July Jones
  13. Miss Teen Wordpower


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.