On April 3, 2007.

On April 3, 2007, “Blue Note” label released “He Had a Hat”, the twelve Jeff Lorber album. It was recorded 2006 – 2007 and was produced by Bobby Colomby.


  • Jeff Lorber– piano, keyboards
  • Eric Benet– vocals
  • Paula Cole– vocals
  • Hubert Laws– flute
  • Gerald Albright – alto saxophone
  • Bob Sheppard– tenor saxophone
  • Kirk Whalum– tenor saxophone
  • Ada Rovatti– tenor saxophone
  • Tom Timko– tenor saxophone
  • Blood, Sweat & Tears– horns
  • Steve Jankowski– trumpet
  • Hernan Mulet– trumpet
  • Jens Wendelboe– bass and tenor trombone
  • The Lair Studio Brass Ensemble
  • The Krim Symphonic Orchestra– Orchestrated by Jeremy Lubbock
  • Chris Botti– trumpet
  • Randy Brecker– trumpet, horn arrangement
  • Jacques Voyemant– trombone
  • Tom Scott– horns, horn arrangement
  • Paul Jackson Jr.– guitar
  • Paul Brown– guitar
  • Russell Malone– guitar
  • Brian Bromberg– bass
  • Alex Al– bass
  • Lenny Castro– percussion
  • Abe Laboriel Jr.– drums
  • Dave Weckl– drums
  • Vinnie Colaiuta– drums

Track listing:

All tracks by Jeff Lorber, except where noted.

  1. Anthem For a New America
  2. He Had a Hat
  3. Grandma’s Hands  – Bill Withers
  4. Surreptitious
  5. All Most Blues
  6. Orchid
  7. BC Bop
  8. The Other Side of the Heart
  9. Hudson
  10. Super Fusion Unit
  11. Eye Tunes
  12. Requiem For Gandalf
  13. Burn Brightly
  14. Deep Night – bonus track

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.