The Decemberists: Picaresque

On March 22, 2005, “Kill Rock Star” label released “Picaresque”, the third Decemberists (The) studio album. It was recorded August – September 2004, at “Prescott Church” in Portland, and was produced by Chris Walla, Colin  Meloy, Chris Funk, Jenny Conlee, Nate Query and John Moen.


  • Colin Meloy- lead vocals, guitar
  • Chris Funk- guitar, multi-instrumentalist
  • Jenny Conlee– voices, accordion, piano, keyboards
  • Nate Query- bass
  • Rachel Blumberg – drums, percussion, backing vocals
  • Aaron Stewart – tom tom
  • Petra Haden – violin, backing vocals
  • Sean Nelson – vocals, voices
  • Eric Stern – vocals
  • Paul Brainard – trumpet, horn arrangements
  • Joe Cunningham – tenor and baritone saxophone
  • Tom Hill – trombone
  • Jeff London – shofar
  • John Roderick – sound effects
  • Troy Tietjen – mixing
  • Carson Ellis – illustrations, design
  • Alicia J. Rose – photography

Track listing:

All tracks by Colin Meloy.

  1. The Infanta
  2. We Both Go Down Together
  3. Eli, the Barrow Boy
  4. The Sporting Life
  5. The Bagman’s Gambit
  6. From My own True Love (Lost at Sea)
  7. Sixteen Military Wives
  8. The Engine Driver
  9. On the Bus Mail
  10. The Mariner’s Revenge Song
  11. Of Angels and Angels

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.