Laura Nyro: Christmas and the Beads of Sweat

On November 25, 1970, “Columbia” label released “Christmas and the Beads of Sweat”, the fourth Laura Nyro album. It was recorded in May 1970, in New York City, and was produced by Felix Cavaliere and Arif  Mardin.


  • Laura Nyro – vocals, piano, arrangements
  • Eddie Hinton– electric guitar
  • Cornell Dupree– electric guitar
  • Stuart Scharf– acoustic guitar
  • Duane Allman– guitar
  • Felix Cavaliere– organ, bells
  • Barry Beckett– vibraphone
  • Richard Davis– bass
  • Chuck Rainey– bass
  • David Hood– bass
  • Roger Hawkins– drums
  • Dino Danelli– drums
  • Jack Jennings – percussion
  • Ralph MacDonald– percussion
  • Alice Coltrane– harp
  • Joe Farrell– woodwinds
  • Ashod Garabedian – oud
  • Michael Szittai – cimbalin
  • Arif Mardin– arrangements, conductor
  • Roy Segal, Tim Geelan – engineer
  • Jerry Lee Smith, Doug Pomeroy – engineer assistant
  • Beth O’Brien – cover portrait

Track listing:

All tracks by Laura Nyro, except where noted.

  1. Brown Earth
  2. When I Was a Freeport and You Were the Main Drag
  3. Blackpatch
  4. Been on a Train
  5. Up on the Roof – Gerry Goffin, Carole King
  6. Upstairs by a Chinese Lamp
  7. Map to the Treasure
  8. Beads of Sweat
  9. Christmas in My Soul

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.