On July 25, 2006.

On July 25, 2006, “Bella Union” label released “The Trials of Van Occupanther”, the second Midlake studio album. It was recorded 2005 – 2006, in Denton, TX, and was produced by Tim Smith, Eric Pulido, Eric Nichelson, Paul Alexander and McKenzie Smith.


  • Tim Smith – vocals, piano, keyboard, acoustic guitar, electric guitar, flute
  • Eric Pulido – electric guitar, acoustic guitar, 12-string acoustic guitar, keyboards, backing vocals
  • Eric Nichelson – keyboards, piano, acoustic guitar, 12-string acoustic guitar, electric guitar
  • Paul Alexander – bass, double bass, electric guitar, keyboards, piano, bassoon
  • McKenzie Smith – drums, percussion
  • Linda Salisbury – French horn
  • Josh Ello – violin
  • Paul Alexander – engineering, mixing
  • Tim Smith – photography
  • Tim Carter – design, layout

Track listing:

All tracks by Tim Smith.

  1. Roscoe
  2. Bandits
  3. Head Home
  4. Van Occupanther
  5. Young Bride
  6. Branches
  7. In This Camp
  8. We Gathered in Spring
  9. It Covers the Hillsides
  10. Chasing After Deer
  11. You Never Arrived

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.