On June 9, 2017.

On June 9, 2017, “Kscope” label released “The Optimist”, the eleventh Anathema album. It was recorded 2016 – 2017, at “Attica Audio” in Donegal, Ireland, “Castle Of Doom Studios” in Glasgow, Scotland, and was produced by Tony Doogan. The Optimist won “Album of the Year” at the 2017 “Progressive Music Awards.”


  • Daniel Cavanagh– guitars, vocals, keyboards, bass
  • Vincent Cavanagh– vocals, guitars, keyboards, programming, bass
  • Jamie Cavanagh – bass
  • John Douglas – drums, keyboards, programming
  • Lee Douglas – vocals
  • Daniel Cardoso– drums

Track listing:

  1. 63n 117.14w (intro) – Daniel Cavanagh, Vincent Cavanagh, John Douglas
  2. Leaving it Behind – Vincent Cavanagh, John Douglas
  3. Endless Ways – Daniel Cavanagh
  4. The Optimist – Daniel Cavanagh
  5. San Francisco – Daniel Cavanagh, Vincent Cavanagh
  6. Springfield – Daniel Cavanagh
  7. Ghosts – Daniel Cavanagh
  8. Can’t Let Go – Vincent Cavanagh, John Douglas
  9. Close Your Eyes – Daniel Cavanagh
  10. Wildfires – Daniel Cavanagh
  11. Back to the Start (ends at around 7:30, a hidden songbegins after 3 minutes of silence) – Vincent Cavanagh, John Douglas

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.