On May 21, 2002.

On May 21, 2002, “Verve” label released “This is New”, the 14th Dee Dee Bridgewater album. It was recorded November – December 2001, at “Capitol Studios” in Los Angeles, “Plus XXX Studios” in Paris, and was produced by Dee Dee Bridgewater. The album was dedicated to Kurt Weill’s music.


  • Dee Dee Bridgewater – vocals
  • Louis Winsberg – guitar
  • Thierry Eliez – piano, Hammond organ
  • Juan José Mosalini – bandoneon
  • Ira Coleman- double bass
  • André Ceccarelli – drums
  • Minino Garay – percussion
  • Antonio Hart- alto saxophone, flute
  • Daniele Scannapieco – saxophone
  • Denis Leloup – trombone
  • Bernie Arcadio – string arrangements
  • Cecil Bridgewater – arrangements, conductor

Track listing:

All music by Kurt Weill.

  1. This Is New – lyrics by Ira Gershwin
  2. Lost in the Stars – lyrics by Maxwell Anderson
  3. The Bilbao Song – lyrics by Michael Feingold, Frank McGuinness
  4. My Ship – lyrics by Ira Gershwin
  5. Alabama Song – lyrics by Bertolt Brecht
  6. The Saga of Jenny – lyrics by Ogden Nash
  7. Youkali – lyrics by Roger Fernay
  8. I’m a Stranger Here Myself – lyrics by Ogden Nash
  9. Speak Low – lyrics by Ogden Nash
  10. September Song – lyrics by Maxwell Anderson
  11. Here I’ll Stay – lyrics by Alan Jay Lerner

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.