On March 27, 2001.

On March 27, 2001, “Tzadik” label released “The Gift”, album by John Zorn, the third volume of “Music Romance Series”. It was recorded 2000 – 2001, and was produced by John Zorn.


  • John Zorn– piano, theremin
  • Marc Ribot– guitar
  • Jamie Saft– piano, organ, Wurlitzer piano, keyboards
  • Greg Cohen– bass
  • Trevor Dunn– bass
  • Joey Baron– drums
  • Cyro Baptista– percussion
  • Mike Patton– voice
  • Dave Douglas– trumpet
  • Jennifer Choi– violin
  • Masumi Rostad – viola
  • Raman Ramakishna – cello
  • Ned Rothenberg– shakuhachi

Track listing:

All tracks by John Zorn.

  1. Makahaa
  2. The Quiet Surf
  3. Samarkan
  4. Train to Thiensan
  5. Snake Catcher
  6. Mao’s Moon
  7. Cutting Stone
  8. La Flor del Barrio
  9. Bridge to the Beyond
  10. Makahaa (reprise)

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.