Donald Byrd: Fancy Free

In December 1970, “Blue Note” label released “Fancy Free”, the 35th Donald Byrd album. It was recorded May 9 – June 6, 1969, at “Van Gelder Studio” in Englewood Cliffs, NJ, and was produced by Duke Pearson.


  • Donald Byrd– trumpet
  • Frank Foster– tenor and soprano saxophone
  • Julian Priester– trombone
  • Lew Tabackin, Jerry Dodgion – flute
  • Duke Pearson– electric piano
  • Jimmy Ponder– guitar
  • Roland Wilson – bass
  • Joe Chambers, Leo Morris – drums
  • Nat Bettis, John H. Robinson Jr.- percussion

Track listing:

  1. Fancy Free – Donald Byrd
  2. I Love the Girl – Donald Byrd
  3. The Uptowner – Mitch Farber
  4. Weasil – Charles Hendricks

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.