On January 27, 1960.

On January 27, 1960, “Atlantic” label released “Giant Steps”, the fifth John Coltrane studio album. It was recorded May – December 1959, and was produced by Nesuhi Ertegün.


  • John Coltrane– tenor saxophone
  • Tommy Flanagan– piano
  • Wynton Kelly– piano
  • Cedar Walton– piano
  • Paul Chambers– bass
  • Art Taylor– drums
  • Jimmy Cobb– drums
  • Tom Dowd, Phil Iehle – engineering
  • Lee Friedlander– photography
  • Marvin Israel– cover design
  • Nat Hentoff– liner notes

Track listing:

All tracks by John Coltrane.

  1. Giant Steps
  2. Cousin Mary
  3. Countdown
  4. Spiral
  5. Syeeda’s Song Flute
  6. Naima
  7. P.C.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.