In January 1967.

In January 1967, “Blue Note” label released “Contours”, the second Sam Rivers album. It was recorded on May 21, 1965, at “Van Gelder Studio” in Englewood Cliffs, NJ, and was produced by Alfred Lion.


  • Sam Rivers– soprano and tenor saxophone, flute
  • Freddie Hubbard- trumpet
  • Herbie Hancock– piano
  • Ron Carter- bass
  • Joe Chambers- drums

Track listing:

All tracks by Sam Rivers

  1. Point of Many Returns
  2. Dance of the Tripedal
  3. Euterpe
  4. Mellifluous Cacophony

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.