On November 10, 1978.

On November 10, 1978, “EMI” label released “Germfree Adolescents”, the debut X-Ray Spex album. It was recorded in 1978, at “Essex Studios”, and was produced by Falcon Stuart, Poly Styrene, Paul Dean, Rudy Thomson and B.P. Hurding.


  • Poly Styrene– vocals
  • Jak Airport – guitar
  • Paul Dean – bass
  • Rudi Thomson – saxophone
  • P. Hurding – drums
  • Ted Bunting, Lora Logic– saxophone
  • John Mackenzie Burns – engineer
  • Andy Pearce – assistant engineer
  • Nick Webb – mastering
  • Falcon Stuart– cover concept
  • Trevor Key – photography
  • Cooke Key – sleeve

Track listing:

All tracks by Poly Styrene.

  1. Art-I-Ficial
  2. Obsessed with You
  3. Warrior in Woolworths
  4. Let’s Submerge
  5. I Can’t Do Anything
  6. Identity
  7. Genetic Engineering
  8. I Live Off You
  9. I Am a Poseur
  10. Germ Free Adolescents
  11. Plastic Bag
  12. The Day the World Turned Dayglo

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.