On June 7, 2005.

On June 7, 2005, “Atlantic” label released “Octavarium”, the eighth Dream Theater studio album. It was recorded September 2004 – February 2005, at “The Hit Factory” in, New York City, and was produced by John Petrucci and Mike Portnoy.


  • James LaBrie– lead vocals
  • John Petrucci– guitar, backing vocals, producer
  • Jordan Rudess– keyboards, continuum, lap steel guitar
  • John Myung– bass
  • Mike Portnoy– drums, backing vocals
  • Doug Oberkircher – engineer
  • Colleen Culhane, Kaori Kinoshita, Ryan Simms – assistant engineers
  • Bert Baldwin – additional studio assistance
  • Michael H. Brauer – mixing
  • Keith Gary – assistant and Pro Toolsengineer
  • Will Hensley – second assistant
  • Pyr Osh – mastering
  • Hugh Syme- art direction, design, photography album
  • Orchestra:
  • Concert Master – Elena Barere
  • Katharine Fong, Ann Lehmann, Katherine Livolsi-Stern, Laura McGinniss, Catherine Ro, Ricky Sortomme, Yuri Vodovoz – violins
  • Vincent Lionti, Karen Dreyfus – viola
  • Richard Locker, Jeanne LeBlanc – cello
  • Pamela Sklar – flute
  • Joe Anderer, Stewart Rose – French Horns
  • String quartet:
  • Elena Barere, Carol Webb – violins
  • Vincent Lionti – viola
  • Richard Locker – cello
  • Jamshied Sharifi – strings arrangements, conductor
  • Jill Dell’Abate – orchestral contractor

Track listing:

All music by James LaBrie, John Petrucci, Jordan Rudess, John Myung and Mike Portnoy.

  1. The Root of All Evil – lyrics by Mike Portnoy
  • Ready
  • Remove
  1. The Answer Lies Within – lyrics by John Petrucci
  2. These Walls – lyrics by John Petrucci
  3. I Walk Beside You – lyrics by John Petrucci
  4. Panic Attack – lyrics by John Petrucci
  5. Never Enough – lyrics by Mike Portnoy
  6. Sacrificed Sons – lyrics by James LaBrie
  7. Octavarium – lyrics by James LaBrie, John Petrucci, Mike Portnoy
  • Someone Like Him
  • Medicate (Awakening)
  • Full Circle
  • Intervals
  • Razor’s Edge

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.