In March 1967.

In March 1967, “King” label released “James Brown Sings Raw Soul”, the nineteenth James Brown studio album. It was recorded in 1967, and was produced by James Brown.


  • James Brown – vocals
  • Nat Jones – alto saxophone, arranger, conductor
  • Sammy Lowe – arranger, conductor
  • Bobby Bird, Vicki Anderson, Margie Clark, Maretha Stewart– background vocals
  • The Jewels – background vocals
  • Billy Butler, Alfonzo Kellu, Alphonso “Country” Kellum, Lonnie Mack, Jimmy Nolen, Wallace Richardson – guitar
  • Al Lucas, Michael Moore, Bernard Odum, James Tyrell, David Williams – bass
  • Ernie Hayes – organ, piano
  • Dud Bascomb, Martha Harvin, Joe Dupars, Johnny Grimes, Waymon Reed, Ernie Royal – trumpet
  • George Dorsey – alto saxophone
  • Pee Wee Ellis, Sam “The Man” Taylor, Eldee Williams – tenor saxophone
  • Charles Carr, Haywood Henry, Clair Pinckney – baritone saxophone
  • Dicky Harris, Levi Rasbury – trombone
  • Gene Redd – vibraphone
  • Ron Selico – bongos
  • John Starks, Clyde Stubblefield – drums
  • Mitchell Kanner – design
  • Harry Weinger – liner notes

Track listing:

  1. Bring It Up – James Brown
  2. Don’t Be a Dropout – James Brown, Nat Jones
  3. Till Then – Eddie Seiler, Guy Wood, Sol Marcus
  4. Tell Me That You Love Me – James Brown, Bud Hobgood
  5. Yours and Mine – James Brown, Bud Hobgood
  6. Money Won’t Change You, Pt. 1 – James Brown, Nat Jones
  7. Money Won’t Change You, Pt. 2 – James Brown, Nat Jones
  8. Only You – Ande Rand, Buck Ram
  9. Let Yourself Go – James Brown
  10. The Nearness of You – Hoagy Carmichael, Ned Washington
  11. Nobody Knows – James Brown, James Crawford
  12. Stone Fox – James Brown, Bud Hobgood

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.