In November 1972.

In November 1972, “Reprise” label released “Boomer’s Story”, the third Ry Cooder studio album. It was recorded in 1972, at “Amigo Studios” in Burbank, California, and was produced by Jim Dickinson and Lenny Waronker.


  • Ry Cooder – guitars, mandolin, bottleneck guitar, vocals
  • Tommy McClure – bass
  • Charles Lawing – clarinet
  • Jim Keltner, Roger Hawkins- drums
  • Sleepy John Estes- guitar, vocals
  • Gene Finney – harmonica
  • George Bohanon- horns
  • Milt Holland- percussion
  • Randy Newman- piano
  • Jim Dickinson- piano, bass, vocals
  • Dan Penn- vocals

Track listing:

  1. Boomer’s Story – traditional
  2. Cherry Ball Blues – Skip James
  3. Crow Black Chicken – Lawrence Wilson
  4. Ax Sweet Mama – Sleepy John Estes
  5. Maria Elena – Bob Russell, Lorenzo Barcelata
  6. The Dark End of the Street – Dan Penn, Chips Moman
  7. Rally ‘Round the Flag – George F. Root
  8. Comin’ in on a Wing and a Prayer – Jimmy McHugh, Harold Adamson
  9. President Kennedy – Sleepy John Estes
  10. Good Morning Mr. Railroad Man – traditional

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.