On October 1, 1964.

On October 1, 1964, “Vanguard” label released “Joan Baez 5”, the fifth Joan Baez album. It was recorded in 1964, and was produced by Maynard Solomon.


  • Joan Baez – vocals, guitar
  • Gino Foreman – guitar
  • David Soyer – cello
  • Langston Hughes – linear notes

Track listing:

  1. There but for Fortune – Phil Ochs
  2. Stewball – Ralph Rinzler, Bob Yellin, John Herald
  3. It Ain’t Me Babe – Bob Dylan
  4. The Death of Queen Jane – traditional
  5. Bachianas Brasileiras 5: Aria – Heitor Villa-Lobos
  6. Go ‘Way from My Window – traditional, arranged by John Jacob Niles
  7. I Still Miss Someone – Johnny Cash, Roy Cash Jr.
  8. When You Hear Them Cuckoos Hollerin’ – traditional
  9. Birmingham Sunday – Richard Fariña
  10. So We’ll Go No More A-Roving – Richard Dyer-Bennet, Lord Byron
  11. O’ Cangaceiro” (The Bandit) – Alfredo Ricardo do Nascimento
  12. The Unquiet Grave – traditional – Child 78

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.