In September 1977.

In September 1977, “Asylum” label released “Foreign Affairs”, the fourth Tom Waits studio album. It was recorded July – August 1977, and was produced by Bones Howe.


  • Tom Waits – vocals, piano
  • Bette Midler– vocals
  • Jim Hughart– bass
  • Shelly Manne– drums
  • Gene Cipriano – clarinet
  • Jack Sheldon– trumpet solos
  • Frank Vicari– tenor saxophone solos

Track listing:

All tracks by Tom Waits, except where noted.

  1. Cinny’s Waltz
  2. Muriel
  3. I Never Talk to Strangers
  4. Medley: Jack & Neal/California, Here I Come – California, Here I Come – Joseph Meyer, Al Jolsonand Buddy De Sylva
  5. A Sight for Sore Eyes
  6. Potter’s Field – lyrics by Tom Waits, music by Bob Alcivar
  7. Burma-Shave
  8. Barber Shop
  9. Foreign Affair

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.