In September 1976.

In September 1976, “Asylum” label released “Small Change”, the third Tom Waits studio album. It was recorded in July 1976, at “Wally Heider Studios” in Hollywood, and was produced by Bones Howe.


  • Tom Waits– vocals, piano
  • Harry Bluestone– violin, concertmaster strings
  • Jim Hughart – bass
  • Ed Lustgarten – cello, orchestra manager strings
  • Shelly Manne– drums
  • Lew Tabackin– tenor saxophone
  • Jerry Yester– arranger and conductor of string section

Track listing:

All tracks by Tom Waits.

  1. Tom Traubert’s Blues (Four Sheets to the Wind in Copenhagen)
  2. Step Right Up
  3. Jitterbug Boy (Sharing a Curbstone with Chuck E. Weiss, Robert Marchese, Paul Body and The Mug and Artie)
  4. I Wish I Was in New Orleans (In the Ninth Ward)
  5. The Piano Has Been Drinking (Not Me) (An Evening with Pete King)
  6. Invitation to the Blues
  7. Pasties and a G-String (At the Two O’Clock Club)
  8. Bad Liver and a Broken Heart (In Lowell)
  9. The One That Got Away
  10. Small Change (Got Rained on with His Own .38)
  11. I Can’t Wait to Get Off Work (And See My Baby on Montgomery Avenue)

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.