In September 1967.

In September 1967, “Soul Imprint” label released “Everybody Needs Love”, the debut Gladys Knight & the Pips album. It was recorded 1966 – 1967, at “Hitsville U.S.A.” in Detroit, and was produced by Norman Whitfield, Harvey Fuqua, Johnny Bristol and Smokey Robinson.


  • Gladys Knight – lead vocals
  • Merald “Bubba” Knight, William Guest, Edward Patten – backing vocals
  • The Funk Brothers: instrumentation

Track listing:

  1. Everybody Needs Love – Norman Whitfield, Edward Holland, Jr.
  2. I’ll Be Standing By – Valerie Simpson, Nickolas Ashford
  3. Since I’ve Lost You – Norman Whitfield, Barrett Strong
  4. I Heard It Through the Grapevine – Norman Whitfield, Barrett Strong
  5. You Don’t Love Me No More – Norman Whitfield, Barrett Strong, Roger Penzabene
  6. Ain’t No Sun Since You’ve Been Gone – Norman Whitfield, Sylvia Moy, Cornelius Grant
  7. Take Me in Your Arms and Love Me – Barrett Strong, Roger Penzabene, Cornelius Grant
  8. He’s My Kind of Fella – Harvey Fuqua, Johnny Bristol
  9. Yes, I’m Ready – Barbara Mason
  10. My Bed of Thorns – William “Smokey” Robinson
  11. Do You Love Me Just a Little, Honey – Harvey Fuqua, Johnny Bristol, Vernon Bullock, Gladys Knight
  12. Just Walk in My Shoes – Helen Lewis Mastor, Kay Lewis Miller

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.