In July 1970.

In July 1970, “Island” label released “John Barleycorn Must Die”, the fourth Traffic studio album. It was recorded February – April 1970, at “Island Studios”, “Olympic Studios” in London, and was produced by Chris Blackwell, Steve Winwood and Guy Stevens.


  • Steve Winwood – vocals, organ, piano, bass, percussion, bass guitar, electric piano, acoustic guitar
  • Chris Wood – sax, flute, electric sax, percussion, organ
  • Jim Capaldi – vocla, drums, percussion, tambourine
  • Andy Johns, Brian Humphries – engineer
  • Mike Sida – design
  • Richard Polak – photography

Track listing:

  1. Glad – Steve Winwood
  2. Freedom Rider – Steve Winwood, Jim Capaldi
  3. Empty Pages – Steve Winwood, Jim Capaldi
  4. Stranger to Himself – Steve Winwood, Jim Capaldi
  5. John Barleycorn (Must Die) – traditional, arr. Steve Winwood
  6. Every Mother’s Son – Steve Winwood, Jim Capaldi

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.