In May 1986.

In May 1986, “SST” label released “Evol”, the third Sonic Youth studio album. It was recorded in 1986, at “BC Studio” in Brooklyn, New York City, and was produced by Martin Bisi, Thurston Moore, Kim Gordon, Lee Ranaldo and Steve Shelley.


  • Thurston Moore– vocals, guitar, synthesizer
  • Lee Ranaldo– vocals, guitar, photography
  • Kim Gordon– vocals, bass guitar, guitar
  • Steve Shelley– drums, programming
  • Mike Watt– bass guitar
  • Martin Bisi– engineer
  • John Golden – mastering

Track listing:

All tracks by Thurston Moore, Kim Gordon, Lee Ranaldo and Steve Shelley, except where noted.

  1. Tom Violence – lyrics by Thurston Moore
  2. Shadow of a Doubt – lyrics by Kim Gordon
  3. Starpower – lyrics by Thurston Moore
  4. In the Kingdom #19 – lyrics by Lee Ranaldo
  5. Green Light – lyrics by Thurston Moore
  6. Death to Our Friends
  7. Secret Girl – lyrics by Kim Gordon
  8. Marilyn Moore –lyrics by Lydia Lunch, Kim Gordon
  9. Expressway to Yr. Skull – Thurston Moore

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.