In May 1977.

In May 1977, “Capricorn” label released “Playin’ Up a Storm”, the third Gregg Allman Band studio album. It was recorded in 1977, and was produced by Russ Titelman and Lenny Waronker.


  • Gregg Allman– vocals, organ, piano, acoustic guitar
  • Willie Weeks– bass, Fender Rhodes
  • Steve Beckmeier – guitar
  • Ricky Hirsch – guitar, slide guitar
  • John Leslie Hug – guitar
  • Neil Larsen – synthesizer, piano, keyboards, Fender Rhodes, horn arrangements
  • Bill Stewart – drums
  • David Luell – horn, saxophone
  • Steve Madaio – horn
  • Pat Rizzo – horn
  • Sherlie Matthews– background vocals
  • Bill Payne– synthesizer, keyboards
  • Fred Beckmeier – bass
  • Red Callender– bass
  • John– keyboards
  • Victor Feldman– percussion
  • Venetta Fields– background vocals
  • Clydie King– background vocals
  • Milt Holland– percussion

Track listing:

  1. Come and Go Blues – Gregg Allman
  2. Let This Be a Lesson to Ya – Gregg Allman, Malcolm Rebennack
  3. Brightest Smile in Town – Ray Charles, Barry De Vorzon, Bob Sherman
  4. Bring It on Back – Gregg Allman
  5. Cryin’ Shame – Malcolm Beckmeier, Steve Berlin
  6. Sweet Feelin’ – Clarence Carter, Marcus Daniel, Rick Hall, Candi Staton
  7. It Ain’t No Use – Bernie Baum, Bill Giant, Florence Kaye
  8. Matthew’s Arrival – Neil Larsen
  9. One More Try – Gregg Allman



Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.