In May 1974.

In May 1974, “Strata-East Records” label released “Winter in America”, studio album by Gil Scott-Heron and Brian Jackson. It was recorded September – October 1973 at “D&B Sound Studio” in Silver Spring, Maryland, and was produced by Gil Scott-Heron and Brian Jackson.


  • Gil Scott-Heron– vocals, electric piano
  • Brian Jackson– electric piano, acoustic piano, flute, vocals
  • Danny Bowens – fender bass
  • Bob Adams – drums
  • Jose Williams – engineer
  • Malcolm Cecil– remastering
  • Dan Henderson – manager
  • Eugene Coles – cover painting
  • Peggy Harris – liner collage
  • Tony Cerrante, Gary Price – liner photos

Track listing:

  1. Peace Go with You, Brother (As-Salaam-Alaikum) – Gil Scott-Heron, Brian Jackson
  2. Rivers of My Fathers – Gil Scott-Heron, Brian Jackson
  3. A Very Precious Time – Gil Scott-Heron, Brian Jackson
  4. Back Home – Gil Scott-Heron, Brian Jackson
  5. The Bottle – Gil Scott-Heron
  6. Song for Bobby Smith – Gil Scott-Heron
  7. Your Daddy Loves You – Gil Scott-Heron
  8. H2Ogate Blues – Gil Scott-Heron
  9. Peace Go with You Brother (Wa-Alaikum-Salaam) – Gil Scott-Heron, Brian Jackson



Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.