In April 1981.

In April 1981, “Asylum” label released “El Rayo-X”, the debut David Lindley album. It was recorded in 1981, at “Record One” in Los Angeles, and was produced by Jackson Browne and Greg Ladanyi.


  • David Lindley – vocals, bass, fiddle, guitar, violin, guitars, whistle, bandurria, divan saz
  • Bill Payne- organ, keyboards
  • William D. “Smitty” Smith- organ, keyboards
  • Garth Hudson- horn, keyboards
  • George “Ras Baboo” Pierre – vocals, percussion, timbales, accordion
  • Curt Bouterse – hammer dulcimer
  • Bob Glaub- bass
  • Reggie McBride – bass
  • Ian Wallace- drums
  • Jckson Browne- vocals
  • Jorge Calderón- vocals
  • Greg Ladanyi- engineer
  • George Ybara – engineer assistant
  • Doug Sax- mastering
  • Jimmy Wachtel- art direction, design
  • Gloria Von Jansky – lettering

Track listing:

  1. She Took Off My Romeos – Bob “Frizz” Fuller
  2. Bye Bye Love – Boudleaux Bryant, Felice Bryant
  3. Mercury Blues – C. Douglas, Bob Geddins
  4. Quarter of a Man – Bob “Frizz” Fuller
  5. Ain’t No Way – Bob “Frizz” Fuller
  6. Twist and Shout – Phil Medley, Bert Russell
  7. El Rayo-X – Jorge Calderón, David Lindley
  8. Your Old Lady – Elmo Glick, O’Kelly Isley, King Curtis
  9. Don’t Look Back – Smokey Robinson, Ronald White
  10. Petit Fleur – Solomon Feldthouse, Nancy Lindley
  11. Tu-Ber-Cu-Lucas and the Sinus Blues – Huey “Piano” Smith
  12. Pay the Man – David Lindley, George “Baboo” Pierre

One thought on “In April 1981.”

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.