In April 1969.

In April 1969, “Tomato” label released “Our Mother the Mountain”, the second Townes Van Zandt studio album. It was recorded in January 1969 in Los Angele and Nashville, and was produced by Kevin Eggers, Jim Malloy and Jack Clement. The album artwork was by Milton Glaser and the album cover photograph was by Allen Vogel.


  • Townes Van Zandt: vocals, guitar
  • Ben Bennay: harmonica
  • James Burton: Dobro, guitar
  • John Clauder: drums
  • David Cohen: guitar
  • Chuck Domanico: bass
  • Jack Clement: guitar
  • Charlie McCoy: bass, guitar, harmonica, organ, recorder
  • Lyle Ritz: bass
  • Don Randi: keyboards
  • Harvey Newmark: bass
  • Mike Deasy: guitar
  • Donald Frost: drums
  • Jules Jacob: flute
  • Bergen White: string arrangements

Track listing:

  1. Be Here to Love Me
  2. Kathleen
  3. She Came and She Touched Me
  4. Like A Summer Thursday
  5. Our Mother The Mountain
  6. Second Lovers Song
  7. John The Gambler
  8. Tecumseh Valley
  9. Snake Mountain Blues
  10. My Proud Mountains
  11. Why She’s Acting This Way

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.