In March 1972.

In March 1972, “Wooden Nickel” label released the debut, self-titled Styx album. It was recorded in 1971, at “Paragon Recording Studios” in Chicago, and was produced by John Ryan and Bill Traut.


  • Dennis DeYoung – vocals, keyboards
  • James Young – vocals, guitar
  • John Curulewski – vocals, guitar
  • Chuck Panozzo- bass
  • John Panozzo- drums
  • Barry Mraz – engineer. mixing
  • Marty Feldman – engineer
  • John Ryan – mixing

Track listing:

  1. Movement for the Common Man – Dennis DeYoung, John Ryan, Aaron Copland
  • Children of the Young
  • Street Collage
  • Fanfare for the Common Man
  • Mother Nature’s Matinee
  1. Right Away – Paul Frank
  2. What Has Come Between Us – Mark Gaddis
  3. Best Thing – James Young, Dennis DeYoung
  4. Quick is the Beat of My Heart – Lewis Mark

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.