In February 1972.


In February 1972, “RCA” label released “Tantamount to Treason Volume 1”, the fourth Michael Nesmith solo album. It was recorded in 1971, and was produced by Michael Nesmith. The album back cover features recipe for the “Papa Nes Home Brew”:


  • Barley Malt … About Three Pounds
  • Water … About Five Gallons
  • Hops … About a Cup (Washington hops, if available)
  • Corn… To Taste (Pilgrims Threw In Artichoke)
  • Rice … To Taste (It has to be processed rice)
  • Brewer’s Yeast … One Block (It must be fresh and non-flocculant)


  • Michael Nesmith – six and 12-string electric and acoustic guitars, vocals
  • Michael Cohen – keyboards & Moog synthesizer
  • Johnny Meeks – bass
  • Jack Ranelli – drums
  • J. “Red” Rhodes- pedal steel guitar
  • José Feliciano– congas
  • Engineered – Peter Abbot
  • Art direction – Acy Lehman
  • Artwork – Wilson McLean
  • Design – Frank Mulvey

Track listing:

All tracks by Michael Nesmith except where noted.

  1. Mama Rocker
  2. Lazy Lady
  3. You Are My One
  4. In the Afternoon
  5. Highway 99 With Melange – Michael Cohen
  6. Wax Minute – Richard Stekol
  7. Bonaparte’s Retreat – Pee Wee King, Redd Stewart
  8. Talking to the Wall – Bill Chadwick
  9. She Thinks I Still Care – Dickey Lee, Steve Duffy



Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.