In January 1975.


In January 1975, “Warner Bros” label released “Urban Renewal”, the fifth Tower of Power album. It was recorded in 1974, at “Record Plant” in Sausalito in California, and was produced by Emilio Castillo. It was the last album to feature lead singer Lenny Williams.


  • Lenny Williams: lead vocals
  • Bruce Conte: guitars, backing vocals
  • Chester Thompson: keyboards, organ, acoustic piano, clavinet, backing vocals, bass pedals
  • Francis “Rocco” Prestia: bass guitar
  • David Bartlett: drums
  • David Garibaldi: drums
  • Carter Collins: congas, percussion
  • Greg Adams: trumpet, flugelhorn
  • Emilio Castillo: tenor saxophone, backing vocals
  • Mic Gillette: trumpet, trombone, backing vocals
  • Stephen Kupka: baritone saxophone
  • Lenny Pickett: clarinet, bass clarinet, alto flute, baritone, tenor & soprano saxophones
  • Bootche Anderson: vocals
  • Marilyn Scott: vocals
  • Pepper Watkins: vocals
  • Greg Adams, Chester Thompson – arrangements
  • Alan Chinowsky, Tom Flye – engineer
  • Lee Herschberg – mastering

Track listing:

  1. Only So Much Oil in the Ground – Stephen “Doc” Kupka, Emilio Castillo
  2. Come Back, Baby – Bruce Conte, Lenny Williams
  3. It’s Not the Crime – Stephen “Doc” Kupka, Emilio Castillo
  4. I Won’t Leave Unless You Want Me To – Stephen “Doc” Kupka, Emilio Castillo, Greg Adams
  5. Maybe It’ll Rub Off – Stephen “Doc” Kupka, Emilio Castillo, Chester Thompson
  6. (To Say the Least) You’re the Most – Johnny “Guitar” Watson
  7. Willing to Learn – Emilio Castillo, Stephen “Doc” Kupka
  8. Give Me the Proof – David Bartlett
  9. It Can Never Be the Same – Bruce Conte, Stephen “Doc” Kupka, Emilio Castillo
  10. I Believe in Myself – Emilio Castillo, Stephen “Doc” Kupka
  11. Walkin’ Up Hip Street – Chester Thompson



Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.